New Braunfels angler wins in Port Aransas

aaredsifaShane Okrasinski, of New Braunfels, caught a redfish and speckled sea trout that measured a combined 49.13 inches in length to win the last regular-season event for the Texas Division of the IFA Kayak Fishing Tour presented by Hobie Fishing at Aransas Pass last weekend.

Although Okrasinski is a two-year IFA Kayak tour veteran, this is his first time in the winner’s circle. The angler earned $1,500 for the victory and gained an additional $507 in Angler Advantage cash.

Okrasinski expected bad weather and knew it would dictate where and how he fished. The angler added the bad weather impacted the fishing in a positive way. Okrasinski fished top-water baits and soft plastic baits in potholes around the Capano Bay area. 

The second-place winner, David Norris Jr., of Corpus Christi, caught a two fish limit that measured a combined 48.25 inches in length, which earned the angler $1,000. The angler added $247 in Angler Advantage cash. The angler’s 28-inch trout won the $100 Berkley Gulp! Big Trout award.

Fishing with soft plastics and spoons in the Stedman’s Reef area, the angler made the most of a tough day of fishing.

“The conditions were harsh; it was pouring rain, thundering and lightning,” said Norris Jr. “But, I caught fish when the weather lightened up.”

Four-year IFA Kayak Tour veteran, Fil Spencer, of Corpus Christi, Texas, took home the $500 third-place prize. Spencer’s 26.25-inch redfish earned the angler the $100 Berkley Gulp! Big Fish award. The angler also earned $221 in Angler Advantage cash. 

Spencer fished the reefs around Rockport using top-water baits and Berkley Gulp!. The angler reported, although the weather was bad, he fished hard and felt good about his third place finish. 

IFA Kayak Texas Division 
Aransas Pass, Texas. (Top 10) 
1. Shane Okrasinski – 49.13 inches
2. David Norris – 48.25 inches
3. Fil Spencer – 47.00 inches
4. Jason Paul – 45.50 inches
5. James Sanchez – 44.75 inches
6. Jeremy Carson – 42.50 inches
7. Paul Martinez – 41.00 inches
8. Evan Hodge – 40.00 inches
9. Jason Brou – 39.38 inches
10. Jared Esley – 39.00 inches