Lee and Jordan take win on Lewisville

2065132The bass fishing action is heating up on the Texas Team Trail as the series heads to the final event on Lake Amistad.

The Texas Team Trail, presented by Cabela’s hosted its fourth and final regular season event Saturday June 9th on Lake Lewisville.

The duo of Russell Lee and Hunter Jordan crushed 17.61 pounds of Lake Lewisville largemouth to claim victory this past weekend. Russell Cecil and Todd Castledine came in second with a bag weighing 17.24 pounds.

Third place went to Nathan Lintner and Mark Rose with their 17.22 pounds of Lake Lewisville largemouth. Big Bass honors, worth $525, went to Joe Setina and Lamonte Loyd with their 7.63-pound largemouth. 

With the win, Lee of Sachse, Texas and Jordan of Cleburne, won a total prize pot is valued over $31K.

“We had an overall great day,” Lee said. “It gets hot down here and heavy boat traffic is expected on Lewisville this time of year. We adapted and caught most of our fish down grassy points, then switched over to boat docks in the afternoon.”

Second place finishers Cecil and Castledine each have been fishing tournaments for over 15 years. With the experience, the duo fished a variety of ways that included crankbaits, jigs and finesse worms. 

The event itself was designed exclusively for a team competition.

“This has been a great year with the Texas Team Trail,” Lee added. “We look forward to fishing the championship on Lake Amistad event in October.”

Coming down to the wire in the Lucas Oil Team of the Year race it’s any teams game. Double points will be out there at the final event on Lake Amistad, so the race is tight. At the conclusion of the Amistad event, custom Lucas Oil Team of the Year rings will be awarded to the winning team, along with entry fees paid for 2013. 

Lucas Oil Team of the Year Standings
1st Place – Jeff Reynolds and Randall Bruce – 487 points
2nd Place – Russell Cecil and Todd Castledine – 478 points
3rd Place – Phillip Crelia and TJ Goodwin – 473 Points
4th Place – Stephen Johnston and Dick Newberry – 471 Points
5th Place – James Martin and Terry Stevens – 465 Points