Lamar University takes FLW on Toledo Bend

The Lamar University team of Quinton Evans of Orange, and Colby Ogden of Kountze, won the FLW College Fishing Southern Conference tournament on Toledo Bend Saturday with five bass weighing 19 pounds, 6 ounces.

Their win qualified them for the 2014 Southern Conference Invitational on Sam Rayburn Reservoir. In their first FLW College Fishing event together, Evans and Ogden sacked almost 20 pounds of pre-spawn Toledo Bend bass. Their finish led a strong overall effort from Lamar, as both Lamar teams placed in the top five.

“We had to cover a bunch of water to catch them,” said Ogden. “We knew we could go to certain areas and catch one or two, but we didn’t have an area where they were really grouped up.”

“We only culled once,” said Evans. “It wasn’t a numbers game; we just found the right ones.”

The pair said they caught their fish by cranking a custom-painted Livingston Lures Pro Ripper over stump flats in 6 to 8 feet of water.

“Stumps are a dime a dozen on Toledo Bend and you just had to hit every one,” said Ogden.

“It feels good to win,” finished Evans. “Sam Rayburn is like our second home lake, so it’ll be good to get to fish close to home again for the Invitational.”

The top 15 teams that advanced to the 2014 FLW College Fishing Southern Conference Invitational are:

1st: Lamar University – Quinton Evans, Orange, Texas, and Colby Ogden, Kountze, Texas (five bass, 19-6, $2,000)

2nd: Louisiana Tech University – Matthew Loetscher, Many, La., and Caleb Boudreaux, Doyline, La. (five bass, 18-2, $1,000)

3rd: Nicholls State University – Trevor Leblanc and Jess Robertson, both from Houma, La. (five bass, 17-6, $500)

4th: Lamar University – Brandon Simoneaux, Bridge City, Texas, and Josh Bowie, Port Neches, Texas (five bass, 17-3, $500)

5th: Sam Houston State – Robert Laskoskie, Kemah, Texas, and Jared Pruitt, Crowley, Texas (five bass, 15-11, $500)

6th: Texas A&M – Josh Bensema, Willis, Texas, and Vann Millican, College Station, Texas (four bass, 14-11)

7th: University of Louisiana-Lafayette – Joshua Clark, Merryville, La., and Eric Fusilier, Ville Platte, La. (five bass, 14-7)

8th: Tarleton State-Stephenville – Hunter Edwards, Breckenridge, Texas, and Marshall Hughes, Port Neches, Texas (five bass, 14-3)

9th: University of Arkansas – Ben Dubois, Fayetteville, Ark., and Keeton Villines, Huntsville, Ark. (five bass, 12-14)

10th: LSU-Shreveport – James Avant, Shreveport, La., and Jared Rascoe, Stonewall, La. (four bass, 12-7)

11th: University of Louisiana-Lafayette – Ry Savory, Saint Martinsville, La., and Dustin Robichaux, Lafayette, La. (three bass, 12-7)

12th: Texas A&M – Zachary Wymer, Southlake, Texas, and Cole Temple, College Station, Texas (five bass, 11-2)

13th: University of Louisiana-Monroe – Jackson Blackety, Monroe, La., and Tyler Craig, Frierson, La. (four bass, 11-1)

14th: University of Louisiana-Lafayette – Zachary Dubois, Kaplan, La., and Colby Drago, Livonia, La. (four bass, 10-4)

15th: University of Louisiana-Monroe – Nick Ladart and Brian Eaton, both of Monroe, La. (two bass, 9-11)

About the author

Lili Sams

Email Website

Hey y'all! I'm a sweet tea lovin' girl from the Lone Star State. I am recent graduate of the University of Missouri School of Journalism, currently living and working in the Big Apple. When I'm not in the big city you can find me riding a 4 wheeler and hunting with my papa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *